We love working here!

I recently received a letter from eighth-grader Crystal Warren, who attends Willoughby Middle School. Crystal’s assignment was to write a business letter. I’m so excited that she chose to write to the Ohio Lottery, so I got permission (from Crystal and her mother) to share her letter with you here:

“My name is Crystal Warren, and I’m in the eighth grade at Willoughby Middle School. We are writing business letters, and I chose to write to you to ask you a few questions:

Where does all the money come from? What do you need to do to come up with ideas (for new games, etc.)? I would like to know what goes on in your headquarters building. Do you like working there? Also, what does it take to work in a big business like that?

Thanks for taking the time to read my letter. I hope you write back and answer some of my questions. If you have time, can you ask a few of your co-workers to describe what their jobs are like, too? Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Crystal Warren”

The Communications Department is sending Crystal a personal reply with answers to all her questions, but I also wanted to take a minute here to publicly congratulate Crystal on her letter and to say we love working here. We love knowing that our hard work and daily efforts to create new games and sell lots and lots of tickets – $2.4 billion worth last year! – directly support K-12 education in Ohio. The 177 workers who are here at our Central Headquarters in Cleveland and the other 189 around the state work hard every day so that we can be proud of what the Lottery contributes to our state economy and to the education budget. Last year, our contribution to the Lottery Profits Education Fund (LPEF) was $728.6 million!

Thanks for reminding us, Crystal, of why we’re here and why we love doing what we do. And watch your mailbox – you’ll be hearing from us!

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We love working here!

  1. Fantastic blog! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the information are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which should do the trick! Have a nice day!

    • jeannier1 says:

      Hi Elly, thanks so much for reading the blog and for the nice words. If you’d like to get an e-mail notification when I post another blog entry, you merely need to subscribe to Oh! a blog. On the right side of the blog home page there is an e-mail subscription option. By simply submitting your e-mail address, you will receive my posts via e-mail automatically when I add them. You can also come back here anytime to experience Oh! a blog “in person” so to speak. Thanks for the visit; hope to see you here again soon!

  2. By a long shot, one of the best article l have come across on this valuable subject. I quite go along with with your assumptions and will thirstily look forward to your future updates.

Leave a Reply

