A new experience outside the Office

By Sandra Neal, Communications

This week I had a unique opportunity to get outside of my comfort zone. It was an adventure riding throughout Cuyahoga County with an Ohio Lottery sales rep. It was a whole new experience that gave me a new appreciation for the agency that I work for. On this Thankful Thursday, it comes down to appreciation. I am thankful for the chance I had this week to get out of my downtown office area where I have been coming for the last 29 years. It’s a whole new world out there. I spent the day with lottery sales representative James Torain. He’s been a rep for six years and had previously worked as a storekeeper before he got his dream job as a sales rep. James said he always wanted to be a rep and it shows in his enthusiasm in doing his job.

Riding around with James, I got to see the hard work that it is getting in and out of a van, checking on your retailer, making sure they have what they need in order to sell lottery products to the people of Ohio. There are 52 zip codes and 1,249 retailers in Cuyahoga County, and the sales reps have to make sure that retailers get what they need in order for the Ohio Lottery to maintain its mission: profits to education. We reached the billion dollar mark so that tells me that my fellow employees and I have been doing what it takes to get the job done. I have developed a real appreciation for the sales reps and the work they put in. There’s more to it that meets the eye. On hot days and cold days a lottery sales rep makes sure that his assigned retailer has what is needed in order to sell Ohio Lottery tickets: games, paper, pencils and equipment that works properly. Sales reps face all kinds of people in the many areas and all kinds of situations daily.

Yes, there is more to being a sales rep and as someone who sits behind a desk daily I am appreciative and thankful to get the chance to get a new perspective on what others in the agency do daily. I was thankful for the experience. Yes it is Thankful Thursday, and I am thankful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

